Entry #12:- Like Father, Like Son

One of the most fascinating things I find about Fatherhood is the ability to reproduce someone who has your characteristics, features and traits. It’s so amazing and goes so far that ones children almost instinctively pick up and copy your words, expressions and behaviour. This is reflected in the timeless ‘Like Father, Like Son’.

Everyone I come into contact with who mentions my son speaks of the resemblance without fail saying; “He’s your spitting image!”, “He looks just like you!”, among other things.

What I find interesting is that Jesus told this narrative also, regarding himself and the Father.

“If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him. Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us. Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father?”

‭‭John‬ ‭14:7-9‬ ‭KJV‬‬

Jesus made it clear that a true child looks like the Father and even performs the same work and speaks the same words. So my question to us all is are we children of God? Do we perform the works of God? Are we speaking the words of God? And if not, then are we really children.
My challenge to us all is to exercise the power and the right that God has given us to become his sons and daughters, through Jesus Christ. Let’s walk, talk and look like Jesus and in so doing show others who our Father God is, revealing to them his power and his love.
God bless you this week, please feel free to comment and post.
Be sure to follow me on Twitter @joelovesworship and subscribe to my YouTube channel for more inspired words and encouragement from Gods word.

Leave a Reply

