Entry #10: First Words

This is the first of a few posts I’ll be making about the power of words and how they impact us. My sons development was seemingly so rapid; he seemed to very quickly grow to a healthy size and begin showing awareness of himself, rolling around and expressing himself. In all of this however I have to say there was perhaps no greater excitement for me than when he spoke his first word… “Dada”.

What joy! What elation! What happiness! I was thrilled and all the more so because he seemed to call my name first, I’d beaten my wife to the punch and, despite being informed later that most babies say “Dada” first because it’s an easier sound for them to make the “Mama”, I was filled with so much light.

This is the potential effect of words in our lives, to bring light, hope and generate inspiration. The very first spoken words of God in the Holy scriptures are:

“… Let there be light” 

Genesis 1:3

What powerful words. The Psalms go on to teach us about the power of words as a light; bringing hope and understanding even to the simplest of people.

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”

Psalms 119:105

“The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.” 

Psalms 119:130

I pray that you will hear Gods Word; speaking to you within your heart and your mind, and perhaps for the first time, words of life and words of hope. To bring you light and direction in this darkened world we live.
In Jesus name. Amen.

Look out for the Word Of The Week Vlog coming in a few days on my YouTube Channel and don’t forget to Like, Share, Subscribe and also leave your posts and comments here, on YouTube or via my Twitter page.

God bless you all and I love you.

One thought on “DIARY OF A FIRST TIME DAD

Leave a Reply

